Out of the mouths of babes

Standard

I took the free bus from the station into the city centre this morning. One of my fellow travellers on this grey and drizzly journey was a blonde girl, probably aged about four, who was sporting the most amazing Christmas cracker  earrings. These silver and purple shoulder-dusters caught my eye, and the little girl was enjoying all the attention, it seemed. As we travelled along the rainy streets full of grim shoppers with their present lists, I overheard her announce to her mum, “I like it when we’re going, and I like it when we stop.”

It seemed to me that this tiny person, proudly wearing those enormous glitzy earrings on an exciting Christmas shopping trip with her mum, had got life completely sussed. Enjoy the travelling, but enjoy the stops too.

Leave a Reply

