Music to my ears

Standard

The Daughter emailed me yesterday with a request for Christmas present ideas. Knowing that students are on limited budgets, I thought of a few bits and pieces. The one I’m really hoping she will go for is a CD she will put together of songs she thinks I might like by people I’ve never heard of. It’s so easy to stick with old favourites (I had a Joni Mitchell song from about 100 years ago stuck in my head yesterday) that I feel I need steering into unknown territory every now and then.

Maybe I should request more directions like these from others: I could compile a “to try” list of others’ favourite novels, poems, paintings, pieces of music, perfumes – the possibilities are endless. Creativity often springs from seeing and doing things differently from the more usual ‘autopilot’ mode. Any recommendations?

Leave a Reply

