Everyday things

Standard

One of the sections of the National Gallery I was keen to explore on my visit there this week was the work of Dutch artists, especially Vermeer. One of my favourite rooms showed scenes of everyday life (including this one by Gerrit Dou http://www.nationalgallery.org.uk/paintings/gerrit-dou-a-poulterers-shop – you can zoom in on the detail, which is astonishing). Suddenly art didn’t have to be about kings, queens, saints and angels, and everyday scenes and objects could be the subject.

Yesterday I looked at a book by artist, Shirley Trevena www.shirleytrevena.com whose colourful watercolours and flamboyant style I love. She is a still life painter of odd collections of everyday things like flowers, fruit – even hats and shoes. I am inspired by the possibilities. In fact, I’m getting quite giddy looking at objects I can put together to paint or photograph or draw. If you’re feeling creative, you don’t need to look far, you just need to look.

Leave a Reply

