Work wise

Standard

Had a brilliant day in London yesterday attending a career coaching masterclass with career strategist, John Lees, author of several books on the subject of finding a job you’ll love.  John is a hugely experienced coach, trainer and consultant in the area of career choice, and the day went by in a blur.  (www.johnleescareers.com)

As a serial career-changer, I wish I had known about the tools, techniques and questions I learnt yesterday when I was in my early twenties.  I would have loved to know what really motivated me and what my greatest skills were .  Instead, as many people do, I ‘fell into’ my first job and my career was less planned, more ‘happenstance’.  However, it’s never too late to learn, and trying out the exercises yesterday was both fun and revealing.  One of the simplest questions was ‘what did you want to be when you were a child?’  Often that childhood dream job has some elements that may still be hugely valuable to you.

I can’t wait to meet my next client who ‘hasn’t the faintest idea about what they want to do’.  I suspect they probably do, deep down.

Leave a Reply

