Feeling inspired

Standard

I watched the breakfast news this morning (unusually for me, as I’m generally not keen to be bombarded with negative stuff early in the day).  The young Paralympic swimmer Ellie Simmonds, who brought home two gold medals, was featured.  She is one of three finalists for the BBC’s Young Sports Personality of the Year.  I hadn’t seen her tearful interview on winning before, and I found it very moving.  What moved me most however were her words, “I didn’t think I could do that”.

There are plenty of things at the moment that I don’t think I can do, but they paled into insignificance when I heard this 13 year old girl say those words this morning.

I plan to be repeating her phrase as often as possible in the next few months.

Leave a Reply

