Music that moves you

Standard

For me, it has to be Mstivlav Rostropovich playing JS Bach’s cello suites.  I’m listening to the pieces now as I write.

I read somewhere that he felt he couldn’t do these pieces justice until he was nearly 70 years old.  There is a wisdom and a passion in the playing which I haven’t yet heard in anyone else’s rendition.

At the opposite end of the spectrum, there is a CD by Dashboard Confessional that never fails to move me to tears.  Granted it takes me back to a particular time I spent with my daughter (she introduced me to the band), but there is something in the quality of the singer’s voice that prods a nerve.  If you can wear a CD out, there is one track that must be getting pretty close.

I am open to suggestions for things you think are worth listening to.

Leave a Reply

