Procrastination – the antidote

Standard

I admit it, I am a terrible procrastinator.  But I am having to do something about it.  NOW.

In a matter of weeks, I will be facing assignments and a dissertation for the course I’m doing.  So far, I’m keeping on top of the reading, but I know that I could read for ever.  Sooner or later, I have to actually put pen to paper.  So, I looked for practical advice on how to overcome this habit of endlessly putting off the evil moment.  I know that many of the people I coach share the procrastination affliction, so this may help all of us.  Interesting that I have no problem with writing like this, but when the work is going to be marked, that’s a different story.

I found this great article, specifically targeting those who, like me, put off writing assignments.  The opening quote hit the nail on the head for me:

“The art of writing is the art of applying the seat of the pants to the seat of the chair.” (Mary Heaton Vorse)

Simple isn’t it.  I shall give it a try.  Let me know how you get on too.

http://www.unc.edu/depts/wcweb/handouts/procrastination.html

Leave a Reply

